Sick Children

Standard

My oh my how sick children will wear you out!! My husband just got home from our weekend flea market booth, coming home early because our youngest son is sick right now and he wanted his Daddy and brother to come home. And do you know what the first thing I thought about doing was when they got home? ….. Taking a nap!!! *bowing head in shame* I know that’s terrible because I should be thinking about being up with my sick son, which I have been doing the whole day, but holy crap am I exhausted! I feel so bad for the poor little dude too, he’s five years old and he’s normally a VERY active little boy, but we found out yesterday that he has “Influenza A” and that he was running a temperature of 102 degrees, which is why he was complaining of a headache. The doctor wrote a prescription for Tamaflu, but there’s a brief lapse in the kids’ insurance due to none other than me, myself, and I, so we were unable to get his prescription. Now he’s got to tough this thing out for it’s full course, as the medicine would’ve chased the flu virus out of him faster. His temp was back up to 101.1 again today, and I’m doing everything that they told me to do too. Motrin and Tylenol, switching every 2-3 hours, ice packs if it gets up to 100 degrees or higher, fluids (which I’m having a hard time getting him to drink enough, but he’s doing better with it), chicken noodle soup, lots of prayer, trying to keep him resting – which is a feat all in itself, we’re doin the works over here….. It’s such a helpless feeling watching your child, or anyone you love for that matter, be sick, and know there’s nothing you can do except pray and be there to take care of them, help them, be there for them, but the want to make them better is very great, at times it puts you in tears. I know he’ll be better soon and that things will be back to normal, but for now it’s hard not to worry and fuss. I will try to work on Part 2 of My Darkness, but it most likely will come after my baby is better, which I’m sure is understandable. I’ve been cleaning everything with bleach spray and rubbing alcohol, wiping everything down as we go along, pillowcases will need to be washed, blankets, anything he sneezed on, lol, smh, kids!! We’re working on sneezing into the elbow, we’re making progress too. He’s whiny of course but hell, I’m whinier than my kids even when I’m sick!! He broke down on the phone with his dad today and started telling him he wanted him to come home with brother please, I want my daddy, poor guy, it was a sad sight. Over course, daddy and brother left early, went to the store and got some sick guy goodies and came home to him.   It’s amazing how fast this came on, he left for school Friday morning and seemed fine, came home Friday night complaining of a headache, which was due to a high fever, next thing you know, he’s sick in full swing. Part of being a kid I guess, passing wonderful germs from one child to the next cause little Johnny sneezed on his hand, then touched Annie’s hand, Bobby wiped his snot with his hand and touched Annie’s hand too, so now Annie’s double infested, aaahhh, next thing you know, they’ve passed it to the whole class! Ugh… well, for now, stay healthy! 

About lilylanders30

I'm a kind, loving and caring person for the most part, but if you cross me or screw me over, not so much. I'm a mom and a wife. I don't have much of a "life" outside of my family. I'm pretty straight forward and open/honest. I've been through a lot in my life and I don't have time for bs. I'm like a roller coaster of emotions all the time. I make a lot of my problems in life worse by my crazy actions, when I'm not even intending too. I love Jesus/God/Holy Spirit, and my faith has often been the only thing that's kept me going. I like a lot of different things. Reading, writing and music are 3 of the biggest ones. There's a lot I could write about me, but I'll stop at this, lol. :-)

Leave a Reply

